The Cricket Inn was opened in 1867 by Phillip Prettyjohn, whose daughter Elizabeth Ann was born at The Cricket and was the last inhabitant of the old village of Hallsands which was swept away in the great storm of 1917.
The Courtney family ran the Inn for over 75yrs, Elias Courtney acquired the Cricket around 1920 and subsequently sold it to Heavitree Brewery in Exeter around 1930 but his son Archie and grandson Cyril carried on the Courtney name until Cyril and his wife Maggie retired in 1995.
Over the years The Cricket has survived storms, a bomb in 1942 which destroyed the adjacent cottages, costing the lives of 7 villagers, and a mud slide that passed through the Inn from back to front. Since Rachel and Nigel took over the helm in 2001 there have been no catastrophes but many changes with a complete refit in 2003 and more recently (May 2010) an extension giving 4 extra letting rooms and a beautiful new restaurant changing the old village pub into what we have today. A bar area with dining for 40 which is dog friendly plus separate drinking only tables, a new restaurant which seats 46 which is ideal for private function as it can be closed off from the rest of the Inn for privacy if required. We boast 7 beautifully appointed letting rooms 5 having breath taking views of Start Bay comprising of 2 mini suites 3 kings and 3 family rooms all en-suite with flat screen multi channel TV’s, tea and coffee making facilities and of course Wi-Fi.